Top-13 Goodreads Quotes

Since summer, I’ve received a daily quote from Goodreads, the community website for writers, readers and publishers.

I’ve been saving the quotes that I really like in my inbox. Here’re my top-thirteen (in the order I have received them):

We delight in the beauty of the butterfly, but rarely admit the changes it has gone through to achieve that beauty.
Maya Angelou

Never trust anyone who has not brought a book with them.
Lemony Snicket

I think it pisses God off if you walk by the color purple in a field somewhere and don’t notice it.
Alice Walker

I would always rather be happy than dignified.
Charlotte Brontë

The saddest aspect of life right now is that science gathers knowledge faster than society gathers wisdom.
Isaac Asimov

The world was hers for the reading.
Betty Smith

Another belief of mine: that everyone else my age is an adult, whereas I am merely in disguise.
Margaret Atwood

In the case of good books, the point is not to see how many of them you can get through, but rather how many can get through to you.
Mortimer J. Adler

If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking.
Haruki Murakami

Weeds are flowers, too, once you get to know them.
A.A. Milne

Fantasy is hardly an escape from reality. It’s a way of understanding it.
Lloyd Alexander

Imagination is the golden-eyed monster that never sleeps. It must be fed; it cannot be ignored.
Patricia A. McKillip

The opposite of love is not hate, it’s indifference. The opposite of art is not ugliness, it’s indifference. The opposite of faith is not heresy, it’s indifference. And the opposite of life is not death, it’s indifference.
Elie Wiesel

Vanessa

12 Responses to “Top-13 Goodreads Quotes”

  1. These are excellent, thanks for sharing!

  2. I forgot to thank you for sharing these! It’s hard to pick a favorite, but I’m leaning toward Murakami, because I’m a bit contrary by nature. I usually don’t like reading what everyone else is reading. :o)

  3. I do disagree a bit with Asimov. I think knowledge always has and always will outpace wisdom. Perhaps he meant the ever-increasing pace at which knowledge is “lapping” wisdom?

  4. I also love the last one, incredible! And it is encouraging to see others taking a liking to quotations, too. Personally I will check out the Goodreads. And I often take a look at the http://www.quotationspage.com/ . It is a nice one…


  5. The opposite of love is not hate, it’s indifference. The opposite of art is not ugliness, it’s indifference. The opposite of faith is not heresy, it’s indifference. And the opposite of life is not death, it’s indifference.

    I like the quote by Elie Wiesel, since it has a Taoist nature. It helps to read ‘it is indifference’ as ‘the attitude that they are not different’. The opposite of one element of the opposites-pair is not the other element, but Unity itself.

    Or is the message more like: Indifference is worse than hate, ugliness and death?

    Now I wonder: How do you interpret that quote?

  6. I didn’t know you could get a daily quote from goodreads so thank you for sharing that. I used to read the book reviews but stopped because if someone said the book was terrible then it put me off reading it. I prefer now to make my own decisions and then look at other peoples reviews to see if I agree with them or not. I had a peek at the review of the book I am currently reading by accident. It has spoiled the book for me as I am now waiting not to like it.

    • Hi Kerry, I mostly look at the number of stars a book gets. Especially if many people have rated a book I think it must say something. I too only read the reviews after I’ve finished a book. This is also for fear of spoilers.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

