Think Before Speaking (T.M.I. Award)

Last March we received the T.M.I Award and it was high time to write a post about an awkward situation. What came to mind was an encounter during my third year at high school:

During the lunch breaks my friends and I usually confiscated a strategical spot near a radiator, which gave us a nice clear view of the school hall and the entrance to the staff room. It was near the stairs to the first floor, enabling us to enjoy the break a couple of seconds longer before returning to class. (And it was of course convenient during the winter.)

In one of the breaks we were discussing and commenting on the outfits of those who passed by. That reminded me of the hideous outfit of one of the teachers I had seen earlier that day. He’d been wearing a grey tracksuit with a faded pastel coloured picture on the sweater, a fine outfit when you’re ill, not planning on going outside or when spending the holidays in front of a caravan, but not to wear in school. While I shared these thoughts with the others and remarked on how much courage you had to have to wear something like that, I felt a hand rest on my head. Curious who it could be, I turned around.

Behind me stood my German teacher, wearing the lovely grey and pastel coloured outfit. It was that exact moment that I realised how two of my friends had been looking intensely at their sandwiches and a third had been desperately gesturing to make me shut up. I remember uttering ‘oh shit’ as I realized he must have been listening in on me for quite some time. Then another ‘oh shit’ as I realized the next period was German. And as if that wasn’t bad enough, I had managed to earn myself a seat right in front of his desk during the previous German class.

Cecile

Cecile’s Writers would like to thank Naomi Baltuck for nominating us. Please check out her blog covering all kinds of entertaining topics, including her T.M.I. moment. We would like to pass on the T.M.I. Award to the following awesome blogs:

Kourtney Heintz

ChichiKir

Subtle Kate

Clairemca

Millie Ho

(Should you accept the Award) The rules are quite simple:

-       Thank the person who presented you with the award

-       Link back to the blogger who presented the award to you.

-       Share an awkward, embarrassing and intimate story in 250 or less

-       Present the T.M.I to 5-10 other deserving blogs.

-       And of course, let them know they’ve been chosen by leaving a comment at their blog.

5 Responses to “Think Before Speaking (T.M.I. Award)”

  1. Dear Cecile, that was a very awkward moment! I hope your teacher had a good sense of humor. Thanks for the mention. I look forward to exploring the blogs you recommend. Very fun post!

    • Hi Naomi,

      Yes, luckily he had a great sense of humor :) It would’ve made those classes unbearable otherwise. Enjoy the other blogs.

  2. Hi Kourtney,

    You’re welcome :) Well that period immediately after the lunch break was hell. I couldn’t really look out of the window since I was sitting right in front of him. So I did do my very best to avoid eye contact at any cost. Luckily, he was a really cool teacher and he never really mentioned it or refered to it. And me being 15 and pretending to have forgotten about it helped too. :)

    Cheers

  3. Congrats on your award. Thanks for nominating me! And ouch that was an embarrassing moment! How did you make it through German that semester?

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

