I Miss the Train

A little over a year ago, I bought my first car. For the first time I felt like a grown-up, even more so than when I had a child (strange, but true). I can now go wherever I like, whenever I like. No more looking at the clock when leaving, five minutes doesn’t make a whole lot of difference when travelling by car. I don’t have to keep the weather in mind as much when going out – there’s always an umbrella in the trunk and I don’t have wear shoes in which I can do a lot of walking in.

But, a year on, I realise that I really miss the train and other modes of public transport. My reading time has diminished. I suddenly realise that I did about 90% of all my reading when travelling to get somewhere. I didn’t mind waiting for a bus because the time always flew by when I had a book. Delays? Oh well, I just texted my next appointment that the trains were acting up again and I had another half an hour to read.

But now that’s gone. I tried listening to an audio book once, but that was sooo dangerous. I was off fighting werewolves in my mind instead of concentrating on the busy Dutch highway. I don’t know how people can even think about texting while driving. Even talking to someone on the phone takes my mind off the road. I look at the road but I’m not seeing it. So, I leave my phone tucked somewhere deep inside my bag, I’ll respond when I get to my final destination. I just turn the radio up high and sing along to be entertained.

So why not just ditch the car and go back to public transport? Simply not possible with two little kids. I need to be on time – no half hour delays possible when picking them up from day care. I also don’t want to haul them in and out buses and trains. So, I’m going to have to start getting into the habit of reading a chapter before bedtime because I’ve seriously been reading too little the past year.

Vanessa

2 Comments to “I Miss the Train”

  1. Vanessa,

    I have found that as my son has gotten older, I spend more time in the car, doing work while waiting for him to finish his tennis, hapkido, swimming, etc. classes. I have a Wifi card that lets me work wherever I am. For you, perhaps you’ll find that you’ll spend more time reading while they’re at classes? They are young for the length of a lightning flash, so you won’t have long to wait. I’ve also started reading more again because my son is an avid reader. So sometimes we lie together on the couch and read. It’s a great way to get in some snuggling time while catching up on all those books that fly by when you’re not looking.

Leave a Reply

