Vanessa’s Bad Reading Year

Unlike the other Cecile’s writers, I won’t be giving a list of my worst reads of the year. The reason is that it’s been a bad reading year when it comes to sheer numbers. I simply haven’t had a lot of time – or to be more precise – the energy, due to illness, to read a lot.

Because of this, I immediately stopped reading a book that didn’t totally grab me. I preferred to spend my reading time on enticing stories. In previous years, I’ve always given books a sporting chance, reading at least a hundred pages or more. Sometimes, I finished the book even though I don’t like it all that much.

What I would like to give instead is a list of books I feel I should read because so many different people have recommended them to me over the course of several years. I often pick these books up, but for some reason decide not to open the cover, or I stop reading after the first ten pages.

  1. The Discovery of Heaven by Harry Mulisch
  2. Life of Pi by Yann Martel
  3. The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett
  4. The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
  5. The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

Does anyone have an idea why I can’t get into these books? Apparently they are definitely worth the read.

Vanessa

One thought on “Vanessa’s Bad Reading Year

  1. I’d say Hitchhikers is worth it as long as you do not read the last book in the series. It feels very…well much like the author finally got to the end but wasn’t quite sure what the heck to do. I dislike that feeling and wish I could take it back. It soured the whole series for me.

Leave a Reply

