Books To Keep You Awake

In the past few months since my son was born, I’ve done more reading than I did the two years prior. Surprisingly enough breastfeeding is a most opportune time to read. But I’ve learned that there are certain genres that just aren’t ideal to read while breastfeeding.

For example, I love reading Victorian novels but I find them impossible to read when I’m extremely tired due to a constant lack of sleep. Victorian stories are just too slow-paced to keep me awake for the 3 a.m. feeding when I’m surrounded by quietness and complete darkness beyond my little reading light. (And the last thing I want to be doing is fall asleep while I’m feeding.) So, after trudging several days and nights through 700 pages of ‘Les Miserable’ (a total of 1500 pages) I decided to put it down and try something else.

Dan Brown is fast-paced and there’s definitely no chance of my falling asleep when I read it. But I have to say, there’s something quite disturbing in reading about the mutilating and burning of bodies while my son is in my arms. Of course I know that even if I were to read out loud, he wouldn’t understand any of it. But after finishing ‘Angels and Demons’ I decided that I’d leave the thriller genre for another time.

So what’s fast-paced, easy reading and non-violent? At the moment I’m mostly reading fantasy and young adult novels. The best is the combination of the two; fantasy for young adults. You see fantasy for adults can also be extremely violent, such as Terry Goodkind’s ‘The Sword of Truth’ series.

And before I know it, I’ll be reading ‘The Cat In The Hat’ again. And again. And again. As often as my son wants to hear it.

Vanessa

2 thoughts on “Books To Keep You Awake

  1. The same applies to watching films, I’ll never forget being sent out with my husband to watch a film, by a well-intended relation who was willing to babysit when my daughter was very young and still feeding. I sat through the most excruciating and nerve-wracking experience ever, I couldn’t wait to leave the cinema and that was it for me, I would never see parts 2 or 3 of Lord of the Rings, that experience killed it for me.

    You are right to choose wisely.

Leave a Reply

