My Sunday Quest

I found a very nice quote by John Irving that I wanted to share. So I placed the quote (on the page of a block calendar) on my desk and decided to do something else while, letting the ideas simmer.

Journey
The something else was to tidy up our bookcases, since they were literary nearly popping due to an overkill of books. You see, I was so pleased about the number of books that fitted on a single shelf, I missed the fact that due to the weight of the books the pins attaching the shelves to the frame were being pulled apart. I settled on tidying the bookcases in the living room and the bedroom. This basically came down to moving books from the living room to the bedroom and occasionally throwing things in a garbage bag.

Dilemma
After spending two successful hours of tidying I returned to my desk. I now had a general idea of how to introduce the quote. My desk, unfortunately, was empty. My cleaning spree had apparently affected more than just the bookcases. I considered opening the garbage bags, but decided against it.

Search
Of course this was bound to happen; I usually lose something after tidying up. I only thought after twenty odd years, I would have mastered the skill of cleaning and not losing important papers. I have learned, however, to stop worrying about it and start looking for solutions. In this case, finding a quote shouldn’t be much of a problem. I knew the general gist of the quote, I knew the author’s name, and there’s something called internet.

Result
Alas, internet couldn’t help me. So I’m hoping that maybe one of you out there can. Anyone know a quote by Irving that compares reading a thin book to going out to dinner with someone on a diet? (At least that was how the Dutch translation went.) While browsing the internet for Irving’s quote, however, I did find a few nice ones:

A children’s story that can only be enjoyed by children is not a good children’s story in the slightest.
―C.S. Lewis

The books that the world calls immoral are books that show the world its own shame.
― Oscar Wilde

Classic’ – a book which people praise and don’t read.
― Mark Twain

No matter how busy you may think you are, you must find time for reading, or surrender yourself to self-chosen ignorance.
― Confucius

This one is a bit cruel but I do like it:

From the moment I picked your book up until I laid it down, I convulsed with laughter. Someday I intend on reading it.
― Groucho Marx

Cecile

Leave a Reply

