September: Getting Back into the Swing of Things

I’m so glad September is over. September always seems to be the most hectic month of the year. I find it even worse than December, mostly because it takes me by surprise…every year!

Where I can see the holiday craze of the festive season coming a mile ahead, I always forget that September is the month of adjustments.

Endless Summer Days

In the summer the days never seem to end. All extra curricular activities stop, giving me free evenings that are super long because the sun only sets after I’ve gone to bed. Also most people are more chilled so that meeting deadlines and quotas doesn’t seem important to anyone. Hey, most people aren’t even there; they’re on holiday and when they come back everyone spends half a day looking at each other’s holiday pics.

But in September the carefree days are over. Everything starts up again, the days are busier and the evenings are often filled up too.

Seasonal Lag

Besides all of this there is the change in season. Over here, the temperature goes down and rain and leaves fall together. And the worst part: the days get shorter, which takes a physical toll on my body. I need to get used to waking up in the dark. And every year it seems to take me longer to get used to it. It’s just like jet lag. Is there a word for this? Seasonal lag?

Now, at the beginning of October, I’ve finally gotten used to the tempo of ordinary life again. I can hopefully get back to making time for all the things that don’t have a concrete time slot, like writing this blog. And of course, creative writing…

Vanessa

4 thoughts on “September: Getting Back into the Swing of Things

  1. I must also concur! Something about the transition from summer to fall is awkward. However getting back into classes and onto the free internet provided by campus helps too 🙂

  2. Yesterday I sat by an open window and listened to the wind and the rain. Just for 10 minutes to clear my head. It was nice to take a breather and enjoy a rainstorm from the comfort of my home. 🙂

  3. I know, September’s horrible for many reasons. Mostly ’cause it’s the month where we begin to think “Hurry up Xmas” and because it’s the month where a lot of work takes place. Thank God it’s October now!

  4. What a coincidence! I also feel the same way.

    Here in my country we should be expecting harmattan. It usually peaks in December.

    I wish you all the best. You’re a wonderful bunch.

Leave a Reply

