A Writer’s New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Read
  2. Write
  3. Write
  4. Read
  5. Rewrite
  6. Write some more

Since September the amount of time I’ve had to read and write has been pitifully little. My New Year’s resolutions can therefore come as no surprise.

I need to get back into the swing of things. I used to meet up with a couple of people for writing sessions, which worked great: a cup of tea and a short chat beforehand and then off to writing. I would get so much done then. But my writing buddies all live a good one-and-half hours drive away and my newborn son keeps me bound to home a lot.

Any writers in Hilversum out there who want to meet up?  Or shouldn’t the Internet offer some kind of help here? Is there some kind of ongoing Google hangout where you can meet up with other writers in real time and get do some solitary writing in good company?

I guess there is NaNoWriMo. I’ve therefore already pencilled NaNoWriMo in my 2013 agenda! And until then, I guess I need to learn a little discipline.

So, to all ya writers out there, happy new writings everyone!

Vanessa

5 thoughts on “A Writer’s New Year’s Resolutions

  1. I’m struggling to write as much (creatively, that is; I’m a copywriter all day) as I would like too. But as people have said above, don’t beat yourself up over it. You’ve got a baby to look after so it’s not like you’re just sitting around with nothing to do and *still* not getting any writing done.

    Just do what you can and enjoy it. Being hard on yourself for not achieving what you expect of yourself isn’t going to help, and I’m talking from experience!

    Happy New Year, and I hope that you do manage to write and read more!

  2. Hi Vanessa,
    Do go easy on yourself, as you are a new mom with a newborn baby. I used to race to the computer when my baby napped, but being a new mom is hard work, and sometimes you just have to lie down and take a nap too.

    Also, make your own rules. November is a very tough time to apply myself to writing, because of the holiday, and I do a lot of holiday storytelling that requires more rehearsal than usual. So with a group of writing friends, I am doing JaNoWriMo. We are taking the month of January to focus on our novels. We are going to meet and write in good company, where there will be a pot of soup and a loaf of bread for folks who are coming straight from work. Sarah Potter is organizing an online Novel in a Winter, which seems like a more reasonable goal, especially for someone who has a baby to take care of. Here is a link to her site that explains it. Good luck! I wish you great success in your writing as well as the rest of your life.http://sarahpotterwrites.wordpress.com/2013/01/01/novel-writing-winter-nww-2013-on-your-marks-get-set-go/

Leave a Reply

