Goodreads and to the Future

Courtesy of goodreads.comIn the beginning of this year, my fellow Cecile’s Writers recommended Goodreads to me and I recall looking at them thinking Good-what? After a thorough explanation I could completely understand why it would be right up my alley. So I signed up, familiarized myself with the platform and before I knew it, I was checking every morning to see the latest updates of friends that would often inspire me to read more or to discover new literature. More importantly, I finally had a place to track my own reading and rate all the books I’ve read… fantastic! If you’re a bookworm or neurotic organizer like I am, Goodreads is basically heaven.

Fellow Bookworms

All that aside, I have managed to make many friends on Goodreads – both readers and writers – who have enriched my literary life. Every time I have a new friend I race to check their books and what we’ve read in common so I can measure up where I stand in comparison and how similar our reading tastes are. This in turn helps me to decide whether their recommendations or reviews will be of particular interest to me. Fortunately, I have many such friends (you know who you are) and all I can say at this point is that I’ve never had such a long reading list in my life… to think I use to grumble about not being able to read enough when the list was just a quarter of the length!

The Challenge

Courtesy of cranstonlibrary.orgThen again, I’ve also never read as much as I have in the past 2 years. I was very proud to take up the Goodreads 2012 Challenge and put down 50 books for the year. I managed to have 56 books read (although 4 of them I couldn’t finish, but more on that in my next post) and I’m currently reading 6 books. I actually accomplished the goal yet I have Goodreads friends that have accomplished goals of 120 or 180 books! That is beyond me sadly although I do envy them.

So it is with an optimistic feeling that I begin 2013 with Goodreads, the friends I’ve made there who motivate me and, of course, books books books. I don’t know what magical number I’ll choose for the 2013 Challenge, but I can’t imagine it’ll be much different than 2012. I have much writing and editing to do and this often takes up the bulk of my time.

A Glimpse Down the Rabbit Hole

There are some books that I can’t wait to read and I’m hoping this’ll be the year I get around to some of them. Here’s a peak at a few titles in fiction:

Arrow of God by Chinua Achebe

Point Omega by Don DeLillo

Arabian Nights and Days by Naguib Mahfouz

Atonement by Ian McEwan

The Famished Road by Ben Okri

The Ghost of Sani Abacha by Chuma Nwokolo

The Whispering Trees by Abubakar Adam Ibrahim

The Beach Café / The Voice by Mohammad Mrabet

and much more. And a peak at some titles in non-fiction:

There Was a Country by Chinua Achebe

Due Considerations by John Updike

The Hero with a Thousand Faces by Joseph Campbell

The House Has Fallen by Karl Maier

Nichomachaen Ethics by Aristotle

and much more.

Yup, it’s going to be another busy reading year… I couldn’t be happier. If you’re on Goodreads, drop me an invite.

Happy 2013 and Happy reading everyone!

Samir

8 thoughts on “Goodreads and to the Future

  1. Pingback: new blog
  2. In 2012 I challenged myself to a book a week and made it with 10 to spare so I’ve upped the ante this year to 60 with no parameters on what I am going to read as I love to be guided, influenced and to read spontaneously, that said, the TBR list is growing, a few similar to you, so see you over there 🙂

  3. As I said, you have thrown down the gauntlet! I will take on your challenge ” en garde, s’il vous plaît”
    and commit to 10 books from my classic list, 10 from my “to read list” and 10 books in French. This should keep me off the streets! Ejoyed reading your comments in 2012 and looking forward to 2013!

    1. I’ll join the challenge… 10 classics, 15 from my “to read list” and 5 Dutch books. And I’m also on Goodreads for those who want to connect.

Leave a Reply

