Spare My Books

We don’t often write or quote poetry here, but Burn’s poem struck a chord with me, especially since I had to battle silverfishes in my previous apartment. I’d freak out each time I saw one, thinking I’d wake up the next morning and half my book collection would be eaten… which is ridiculous, of course, although my imagination has a life of its own. Anyway, here is the poem titled The Book-Worms:

Through and through the inspired leaves,

Ye maggots, make your windings;

But, oh! respect his lordship’s taste,

And spare his golden bindings.

Robert Burns

Samir

3 thoughts on “Spare My Books

Leave a Reply

