NaNoWriMo: Decisions

For the past two years I participated in the NaNoWriMo. So far I managed to see it through to the end of the month and reach the 50,000 words needed. That I’ve done so twice still surprises me. Self-induced tasks never have much chance of becoming a success as I usually need an external source to keep me going.

Success Factors

Perhaps it’s because there is a clear start and a finish.

Perhaps it’s because it’s the feeling of being in full control. Pushing myself to do just a tad more than would be healthy. Having the time to write is always the problem after doing the mandatory tasks like my daytime job, choir practice and exercise, but it’s definitely satisfying to reach those 1,500 odd words a day.

Or perhaps it’s because I love writing and NaNoWriMo is a good excuse to spend every available minute on writing, therefore being allowed to neglect all other social obligations.

Old and New

It’s not time that will make it difficult to reach those 50,000 words. This year, the problem lays in the topic; to be precise, the lack of one. There are some ideas fluttering around that could turn into one or two short stories, but the ideas are too immature and too feeble that they’ll disintegrate as soon as I start working on them. They need more time until they present themselves as the next story material I’ve been looking for.

So a new idea isn’t at hand right now. That leaves me with the topic I worked on during the last NaNoWriMo. The raw material hasn’t been touched since. I didn’t make the time in December and in the months following that, I didn’t feel like working on it. Continuing on the theme and the characters isn’t much of a problem. The raw material is by no means a coherent story, since I never write longer stories in chronological order. Whatever part comes to mind will be written down. This can be a chapter like bit or just a certain situation.

As I write this down I actually feel like picking up where I left last year, yet at the same time I think there’s this voice nagging somewhere deep within me and questioning me if I shouldn’t be working on something new. I could use next January instead to look into last year’s raw material.

Luckily, I still have some time left to decide.

Cecile

One thought on “NaNoWriMo: Decisions

Leave a Reply

