What I Want to Read

Courtesy of itsfunny.net
Courtesy of itsfunny.net

It’s funny how I ended up a student of literature and an editor because of my love of reading, only to realise that being at the position I’m now in, I seldom have time to read for pleasure anymore.  What with all the study texts, required reading, journals and literary criticism for research and essay writing; not to mention the ever present slush pile to go through and to work on several drafts of the ones that make the cut, my to-read shelf grows faster than I can ever hope to tackle.

Yet once a lover of good fiction, always a lover of good fiction!  And the list of classics I still want to go through is a long one, not to mention the collections of writers I love like Achebe, Hemingway, Dostoevsky, Steinbeck and so on, but every once in a while, there are contemporary writers who jump the lines and grab my attention.  So the ones I’m looking forward to reading as soon as there’s a window of opportunity are:

  1. Katherine Heiny’s (new and just released collection) Single, Carefree, Mellow
  2. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Americanah
  3. William T. Vollmann’s Butterfly Stories
  4. Segun Afolabi’s A Life Elsewhere
  5. Michelle Houellebecq’s Submission

Now to squeeze them into the busy life and enjoy some recreational reading!

What are your most anticipated reads for 2015 and shall I include them in my list?

Samir Rawas Sarayji

7 thoughts on “What I Want to Read

  1. I am in an absorbing William Shakespeare phase. There is so much we don’t know about this very influential writer that it piques my curiousity to discover as much as I can. I’m in the midst of Greenblatt’s Will in the World: How Shskespeare Became Shakespeare. Fascinatjng, insightful, and slow going because I keep making notes.

    1. There’s nothing like curiosity or passion to take reading to a whole new dimension. I can’t imagine myself being that vigilant with Shakespeare though, mine would be 20th century literature and preferably African 😉

      1. African would definitely be interesting due to the various cultural perspectives, let alone political. Cry, the Beloved Country would be an example of mixed perspectives.

Leave a Reply

