Holiday Dilemma

My faithful tentEach year, I face the challenge of packing the little red Toyota with the bare necessities and the other, apparently useful, objects for camping: sleeping bags, kitchen utilities, a tent, folding chairs and a change of clothes.

This year, however, the plans are slightly different.  The trip to Ireland involves an airplane and that causes some restrictions in my preparations.  The plan is to go to Ireland, rent a small camper van and travel around for a week or two.

Paper or digital

On the one hand, I don’t have to be bothered with folding chairs and a heavy (but really spacey) tent and such.  On the other hand, I have to keep a check on the number of books I can bring along.  The thing is, the list of books I’ve been saving for the holidays is still growing:

  • Haruki Murakami’s Strange Library and Kafka on the Shore
  • Ali Smith’s How to be both
  • Stephen Fry’s More Fool Me
  • Kate Fox’ Watching the English
  • J.K. Rowling’s The Cuckoo’s Calling
  • Natsuo Kirino’s Grotesque

The Strange Library isn’t very thick so that’s fine.  Kafka on the Shore I already read before, so I could consider leaving that one home.  The other ones I don’t know yet.  There is a possibility that I won’t be reading much at all, in which case bringing them is a waste of weight.  I could go digital.  That would mean buying digital versions of books I already have, or having to buy new books.  Books which I won’t be able to feel the weight or the touch the pages of; that takes away part of the magic of reading for me.  The fact that I’m considering the option of an e-reader feels like I’m betraying my faithful paper companions.

Counting 

The number of things I can bring back is also rather limited.  I don’t think I’m fit for airplane travels.  It forces me to calculate about ridiculous things I don’t want to be considering.  That seems to defeat the purpose of going on holiday.

Nevertheless, I can’t wait to go.  I just have to accept that it will take a bit more effort than the average holiday.

Cecile

6 thoughts on “Holiday Dilemma

  1. You are hilarious. I love a woman who overthinks. I can’t wait until you get back and let us know what you packed, and whether you actually read anything while reclined by the campfire. Have an awesome time!

    1. Hehe 🙂 Over thinking is what I do. I’ll let you know what happened.

      But here’s what I think I’ll end up doing. I’ll take one or two tomes with me instead of three or four thinner ones. However, I won’t touch either of them during the journey; instead I’ll be buying new ones. And not in English, because I can purchase those anywhere. No, I’ll buy Irish ones, that way I can practise my Irish and do some translating too.

      1. I think that’s a perfectly wonderful plan! It’s like that nice outfit you take on vacation that you never really wear, because you end up in jeans and a tee-shirt or some flowery dress you got at a beach store. But it’s important to have that extra outfit or book just in case . . . maybe you need an extra suitcase too. 🙂

  2. Thanks 🙂 We booked the tickets and the car today. The plan did change a bit in the end. We decided on a car and not a camper van, but the countdown has begun.

Leave a Reply

