Book Obsession

(Courtesy of lib.utah.edu)
(Courtesy of lib.utah.edu)

My husband and I needed to clear a room, which meant I had to get rid of some books.  I was heartbroken when I took three boxes filled to the brim to our local library.  I couldn’t possibly bring myself to trash them, and although I can’t enjoy them anymore, I’m glad that most of them at least will get a new home and lots of new readers.

Thank goodness we still have one bookcase in the living the room that is filled with books – two rows on each shelf.  I wouldn’t be surprised if late one night we are woken up by the whole thing crashing down.  I wonder how many of them I will ever read again?  Probably just a handful, but their presence comforts me, and I like the idea that I could lend them to friends and family who haven’t had the joy of reading them yet.

Yes, I suppose I’m obsessed, but this quote shows me that I’m not alone:

Book collecting is an obsession, an occupation, a disease, an addiction, a fascination, an absurdity, a fate. It is not a hobby. Those who do it must do it.

-Jeanette Winterson

Vanessa

Leave a Reply

