Literary Tidbits

poetry-and-prose_0
(Courtesy of http://www.differencebetween.info)

Lets get right down to it, I love literature and I love the different genres literature offers: prose, poetry, drama, and criticism.  If I really have to choose a favourite, mine is prose.  I certainly wouldn’t hold it against anyone though if they loved another genre, even if it wasn’t literary but more mainstream or commercial.  To each his own.  So when one friend killed another in a drunken argument in Russia, because the former insisted that poetry was superior to prose, I say it’s taking a love for literature one step too far.

.

.

Rushdie (Courtesy of artsbeat.blogs.nytimes.com)
Rushdie (Courtesy of artsbeat.blogs.nytimes.com)

It’s an age-old argument that we have to keep fighting for: censorship is a no! So kudos to the organisers of the Frankfurt Book Fair for sticking with Salman Rushdie as the person to open the fair, with the Iranians threatening to boycott the event if they went ahead with their plans.  And kudos to Mr Rushdie’s outspokenness against censorship.

.

.

.

.

Hudson (Courtesy of independent.co.uk)
Hudson (Courtesy of independent.co.uk)

Pen names… When I pick up a book by an author I don’t know, I often wonder if that is the author’s real name on the cover, do you?  If not, you might want to start thinking about it because this article about a white author Michael Derrick Hudson, whose poem was recently included in The Best American Poetry 2015, actually wrote it under an Asian name, Yi-Fen Chou.  Need I say more?  Apparently, it’s Michael’s way of playing smart and minimising the amount of rejections he was getting before finally publishing, but is it ethical?  And are editors that much biased on ethnicity?  The debate is an interesting one.

.

.

This short post about the game –Memoranda– based on some of Murakami’s stories, particularly his surreal settings, made me think of my friend and colleague Cecile.  You see, Cecile has all of Murakami’s books and loves reading them, but she doesn’t necessarily like playing games.  So I’m wondering once the game is developed, will she finally be forced to play a game?  Can she say no to a Murakami inspired game and all that character-driven magical realism?  Can we?

Samir Rawas Sarayji

8 thoughts on “Literary Tidbits

  1. Hmmm, you cannot near imagine how much I traveled in this short space of time… Lovely literary tidbits. Do you guys have this often? And when? I am sure I can stop my day or week to catch up with this. Had me thinking. Didn’t even know about the Frankfurt bit… or the game. But again, what do I ever know about these things? 🙂

    1. So much goes on in the world, even when it’s only the literary world… who can keep up! Well, I don’t do this on a regular basis but definitely when it’s news worthy like this 😉

    1. Thanks Claire. I still can’t get over the murder thing… it’s so out there that if I read it in a a story I’d be like “C’mon!”

Leave a Reply

